Mission Statement:

The Town of Seekonk's Building Department recognizes that its chief function is to serve the best interests of all of the people of the town.

We provide for the safety of the public by administering and enforcing the State Building Code, and the Specialized Codes contained therein, the Commonwealth of MA Electrical Code, and the Commonwealth of MA Fuel, Gas, and Plumbing Codes.

In addition, we enforce the Town Zoning By-Laws, and applicable sections of the Town By-Laws. We examine plans, issue permits and perform inspections that will comply with the laws of both the Town of Seekonk and the Commonwealth of MA.

This is all to ensure a safe public and private environment for the residents and individuals who work here and those who use our community and its services.

Staff Contacts

Name Title Phone
Neal Abelson Building Official / Zoning Enforcement Officer 508-336-2992
Shandra Ferreira Department Secretary 508-336-2990
James D. Aguiar, Jr. Building Commissioner 508-336-2990
Michael Medeiros Electrical Inspector 508-838-6141
Tim Cutler Mechanical / Plumbing / Gas Inspector 774-991-4089
Jeff Mello Building Inspector 508-336-2994